Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics

Present status

Excellent reviews of IBED’s research by a QANU review board in 2012 emphasize the high quality and leading position of the work carried out in the context of the research priority Global Ecology.

The full scope

Global Ecology is currently supported by 17 senior staff members within the IBED institute and several associated members affiliated to other institutes of the Faculty of Science (see table below). Together with PhD students, postdocs and junior tenured staff (including VENI and VIDI laureates), the research priority has a mass of 60+ fulltime equivalents of research power.

New professors and tenure staff

Recent appointments of full and endowed professors strengthen and expanded the the diversity and versatility of the research capabilities of Global Ecology. New chairs and tenure staff include:

Professors 

  • prof. dr. H. (Hal) Caswell

    Full Chair in Mathematical Demography and Ecology

    H.Caswell@uva.nl | T: 0205258574

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. ir. P.F.M. (Piet) Verdonschot

    Special Chair in Wetland Restoration Ecology

    P.F.M.Verdonschot@uva.nl | T: 0205258448

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. C.P.D. (Corina) Brussaard

    Special Chair in Viral Ecology

    C.P.D.Brussaard@uva.nl | T: 0205256021

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. J.C. (Koos) Biesmeijer

    Special Chair in Functional Biodiversity

    J.C.Biesmeijer@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage

Tenure staff

  • Dr Y.A. (Yael) Artzy-Randrup

    Theoretical Ecology, functional diversity of malaria parasites

    Y.A.Artzy-Randrup@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. rer. nat. W.D. (Daniel) Kissling

    Experimental Plant Systematics, Macroecology

    W.D.Kissling@uva.nl | T: 0205258423

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. I.M. (Isabel) Smallegange

    MacGillavry fellow, Population Biology, eco-evolutionary dynamics in changing environments

    I.Smallegange@uva.nl | T: 0205255483

    Go to detailpage

Published by  IBED

4 February 2014