Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics

Molecular Ecology and Evolutionary Genetics of Species Interactions

To explain how biological diversity comes into existence and is maintained, it is important to identify processes involved in adaptation, differentiation and speciation. In this theme, we focus on three subthemes: chemical interactions within and between species, interactions between pollinators and plants, and symbiotic interactions between arthropod hosts, microbes and fungi.

Many interactions between individuals are through chemical communication, such as sexual communication with pheromones and plant recognition and manipulation of plant defence systems by herbivores. Symbiotic interactions turn out to be more diverse, abundant and dynamic than we thought. Many traits of arthropods, such as mode of reproduction, food plant choice, interaction with defence system of food plants and reproductive isolation, are affected or altered by their symbionts. We need to determine the molecular ecological mechanism of the traits involved in these interactions. In addition we want to understand the proximate and ultimate factors that affect the evolution of these traits and their interactions.

Staff members

  • dr. A.T. (Astrid) Groot


    Associate Professor
    A.T.Groot@uva.nl
    T: 0205255400
    T: 0205257750

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. J.A.J. (Hans) Breeuwer


    Associate Professor
    J.A.J.Breeuwer@uva.nl
    T: 0205257745

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. T.B.S. (Thomas) Van Leeuwen


    Associate Professor
    T.B.S.VanLeeuwen@uva.nl

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. P. (Peter) Roessingh


    Assistant Professor
    P.Roessingh@uva.nl
    T: 0205257732

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. T. (Teun) Boekhout


    Special Professor Fungal Functional Diversity
    T.Boekhout@uva.nl

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. P.G. (Patrick) Meirmans


    Assistant Professor
    p.g.meirmans@uva.nl
    T: 0205258424

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. J.G.B. (Gerard) Oostermeijer


    Assistant Professor
    J.G.B.Oostermeijer@uva.nl
    T: 0205257817
    T: 0205257844

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. ir. M. (Michiel) van Wijk


    Researcher
    M.vanWijk@uva.nl
    T: 0205258295

    Go to detailpage

Published by  IBED

20 June 2017