For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

P(h)D Council

The IBED P(h)D Council facilitates an open, social environment for PhD candidates and Postdocs to get to know each other and discuss science-(un)related matters. In addition, they provide a link between the management team and the PhD/PD community, and aim to facilitate communication and streamline potential issues. The council also provides advice to the management team regarding topics such as teaching responsibilities, PhD courses and career development.

Monthly meetings 

The PhD/Postdoc council organises monthly events for all IBED PhD candidates and postdocs. This time can also be used to bring forth issues or special remarks that the community would like to communicate to the management. 

Community building 

The PhD/Postdoc council maintains regular communication with the IBED Management. Together, we provide an integral approach for welcoming new members to the institute. We organise social events twice a year, open for all the institute. We also represent  the PhD candidates and Postdocs when providing advice to the management team in matters such as assessments of staff members, tenure tracks, or hiring processes. The council also represents the interests of the community during the open institute-wide meetings (IBED Café), where staff members and management get together. 

Contact information

Please contact us by sending an email to: 

Committee members

E. (Eileen) Enderle

Chair | PhD representative ELD

Dr. M. (Maja) Bradarić

Faculty of Science

Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics

G.M. (Giuditta) Beretta MSc

PHD representative EPB | social committee

L.N. (Lia) Corbett

Faculty of Science

Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics

Dr. J.A. (Jacques) Deere

postdoc representative

J.A. (Jens) van Erp

PhD representative TCE

E.A. (Evy) de Nijs

representative PE&RC PhD Council

R.A.H. (Renée) van Schaijk MSc

social committee

N.H. (Nina) Witteveen MSc

Faculty of Science

Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics

Previous IBED P(h)D council members

  • Max Anders
  • Maja Bradaric
  • Sara Campana
  • Rachid Chafi
  • Jasper Croll
  • Jens van Erp
  • Sebastiaan Koppelle
  • Xia Meng
  • Elspeth Sage
  • Nina Witteveen
  • Naomi Zweerus